The so-called reach-in foul occurs when a defending player reaches toward the orange in an attempt to steal the ball but instead illegally contacts the ball handler. The act of reaching in by itself is not considered a foul in any rulebook, be it NBA or FIBA rulebooks. However, depending on the circumstances, it may indeed be a foul.
One of the most confusing rules in basketball revolves around the act of "reaching in." If you play or watch basketball often, you have likely heard somebody call a reach-in foul to describe a situation wherein a defensive player reaches in to attempt to steal or deflect the ball from an offensive player who has possession. This type of foul does not actually exist and is one of the biggest myths in the game of basketball.
A reach-in foul is a term used to describe the defender attempting to reach in and steal or poke the basketball from the ball handler. In the attempt, the defender makes contact on the arms or impedes the ball handler’s progress or path, in which a foul will be called against the player trying to steal the ball.
If you reach in to try and grab the ball and you either steal it unfairly or you slap the opponent, it will be called as an illegal foul and will lead to either a resumption of play from the sideline or, if the team has a bonus, a free shot at the free throw line.
The most common example of a reach-in foul in basketball is when a player crosses over a defender while dribbling the ball. The defender attempts to steal the ball when the offender tries to crossover dribble, and this is where the reach-in foul occurs. The second instance wherein a player gets called for a reach-in foul is when a player steals the ball aggressively.
A reach-in foul in the NBA is when the defensive player "reaches in" and tries to steal the ball away from the offensive player. The foul occurs if a player impedes a ball carrier's personal space while making contact with him reaching for the ball.
“Reaching” is not a foul. There must be contact and the player with the ball must have been placed at a disadvantage. 5. A player may always recover his/her fumbled ball; a fumble is not a dribble, and any steps
A five-second throw-in violation generally occurs during a throw-in when the ball is not passed by the player who is supposed to inbound the ball before 5 seconds have gone by after he or she got the ball. Usually the penalty for a five-second violation is losing of the ball from that team.